Rootz Reggae Dub album coverRootz Reggae Dub - Special Edition album cover

Rootz Reggae Dub

Lee "Scratch" Perry


at select independent stores only

MEGAWAVE Records MEGW 0512
BUY NOW! [paid links] [digital] [CD]

Right after a U.S. tour several years ago, dub reggae legend Lee "Scratch" Perry recorded 12 new tracks in Negril to a reggae combination mixed by Spacewave, working with backing musicians Speak Easy. Adding percussion from Larry McDonald and backing harmonies from Detroit-based female trio Dames Brown and The Groovematist, the new album was completed just in time for a double-12” vinyl special edition for Record Store Day 2019, the CD and digital versions released five months later. This Grammy-winning artist, songwriter, and producer channels more of a roots reggae sound for this project and continues his commentary on spirituality, good and evil, and the human condition.

01 Sun Is Shining (Over You) 3:00
02 Stir It Up (In The Pot) 7:10
03 Some Day Play, Right Now Stay 2:55
04 Evil Man Loose In The World 5:03
05 Punky Reggae Party 9:24
06 When Will The War Be Over 6:53
07 Like A Megawave 3:12
08 Speak Easy On A Quiet Moonless Night 8:47
09 You All Know What To Do 4:47
10 Ever Forward 5:08
11 Stop Killing Your Brothers Down 6:01
12 Rewind 2:23

About this album...

Background Vocals by Dames Brown (Athena Johnson, Teresa Marbury & LaRae Starr)
Athena Johnson appears courtesy of SoulJazz Entertainment, Teresa Marbury appears courtesy of Mar-Lo Records, LLC and LaRae Starr appears courtesy of Triple Seven, LLC

Produced by Spacewave®; Dames Brown Session Produced by The Groovematist®
Mixed & Mastered by John Palmer at Andro-Media®
Lee “Scratch” Perry Vocals & Percussion Recorded by John Palmer in Negril Jamaica
Dames Brown & The Groovematist Backing Vocals Recorded by Ira Moore at Groovehouse Recording Studios in Dexter Michigan USA
Speak Easy Guitars, Keyboards, Drums & Bass Recorded by Corey DeRushia at Troubadour Recording Studio in Lansing Michigan USA
Larry McDonald Percussion Recorded by John Palmer in New York City USA

All songs written by Rainford Hugh Perry (Dogstreet Road Music Publishing - BMI), Speak Easy & John Sanford Palmer (Spacewave Music Publishing - ASCAP)




To LSP on the MEGAWAVE Home Page


Please contact with questions or comments about this page.
MEGAWAVE does not collect data from this web site. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Last updated October 13, 2021.
MEGAWAVE® is a trade mark of Megawave Corporation.
All rights reserved. © 2010-2021 Megawave Corporation, Lansing, Michigan USA